Just a quick, checking in post

Another busy week for me, but what’s new when you’re a full-time student? The end of the semester is approaching and so all major assignments and papers are piling up. Exams will be in a couple of weeks, oh boy!

To own up to my good intentions, the meal planning went well for a few days and then I got sidetracked again. I have been preparing a lot more simple, quick meals at home, though. One thing that I’ve recently started doing that helps a lot is to buy frozen, chopped greens. I used to only buy fresh and then stress about using them up before they got wilty. My favorites are the leafy green mix from Whole Foods I mentioned in my last post, spinach, and collard greens. Instead of having to wash and chop my greens, I can just throw them into a pan with some water or into whatever recipe I’m using them in, such as stir-fry, curry, or soup. They are a time-saver and are just as, if not more, nutritious as fresh greens since they are flash frozen almost immediately after being harvested. That doesn’t mean I don’t still appreciate fresh kale from the farmer’s market!

Before I get back to my paper,I wanted to share this article from a (more or less) local cardiologist, Why I’m a Vegan: A Cardiologist Explains.

1 Comment

Filed under food, meal planning

One response to “Just a quick, checking in post

  1. Pingback: Friday Love List | thespeckledbean

Leave a Reply

