WIAW

I don’t officially do What I Ate Wednesdays (yet?) but today I have a few things to share with you.

I adore food blogs with artful pictures of meals, starting with photos of trips to the market and all the ingredients what went into it, along with lengthy descriptions of the background of the dish, preparation methods, etc. etc. But right now I don’t have time to write posts like that and possibly never will. So I will enjoy the blogs of people much better than me at doing it, but I suspect that a lot of you also enjoy pictures of simple food that can be whipped up quickly on a week night.

Food doesn’t have to be complicated or difficult to make to be delicious and healthy. This dinner I made last night of braised bok choy and tempeh finished with a drizzle of hoisin sauce definitely fits in with that. Bok choy contains a good amount of calcium, along with vitamins A, K, C, folate, and is in the cruciferous class of vegetables known for their anti-cancer properties. The fact that it is also delicious makes it a good leafy green to include in your weekly meal rotation.

Braised bok choy with tempeh and hoisin sauce.

Braised bok choy with tempeh and hoisin sauce.

All I did for this was lightly brown my tempeh strips in a little oil, set aside, and then use the same pan to saute the bok choy until the greens were tender but the white stalk was still a little crisp, and then added the tempeh back to the pan and drizzled it all with a little organic hoisin. So simple, so good. Tempeh is a great source of protein and has a great, nutty flavor. Here’s another post about the nutrition benefits and another way to prepare tempeh (from one of those amazingly detailed blogs with great photography!).

Tonight I felt like Indian food and luckily I happened to have all the ingredients on hand to make chana saag (or chole palak), one of my favorite dishes.

chana-saag (2)

Chana saag with biryani

I loosely followed this recipe at Manjula’s Kitchen, one of my favorite sites for Indian recipes and instructional videos. I used Whole Foods 365 brand frozen mixed greens (a blend of collard greens, kale, and mustard greens) instead of spinach, a small onion and LOTS of minced garlic, canned crushed tomatoes instead of fresh, used only 1 TBS of coconut oil instead of  3, and I didn’t have asafetida so I used a few squeezes of lime at the end of cooking for a little tartness. The biryani came from Trader Joe’s and heated through very quickly; it took less than 10 minutes. The raisins and apples in it added a nice sweetness to this dinner. SO incredibly flavorful and full of all kinds of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, fiber, and anti-inflammatory properties from the turmeric and other spices. It only took about 10 minutes to prep everything and about 20 minutes to simmer the chana saag. It’s healthier than getting restaurant Indian food, as that’s usually full of oil (or ghee and cream) and too much salt.

And finally, a little pre-Easter treat I ordered for myself from the best chocolate shop in the world, as far as I’m concerned.

The Harlot Box

The Harlot Box

This box of exquisite truffles are a mix of  pomegranate (with rose petals on top) and lemon (with lavender blossoms on top) Read more about Lagusta’s Luscious chocolate shop here. I truly have never had such divine, decadent chocolate and her ethics align nicely with mine, so it’s a win-win. I ordered a few treats for my boyfriend for Easter, as well, but I HAD to get myself something as long as I was making an order.

4 Comments

Filed under food, recipes, what I ate wednesdays

4 responses to “WIAW

  1. This looks so wonderfully delicious. It is 220am and you have me feeling hungry :) I will certainly give this recipe a try. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to learning from you in the future :) I recently started a food blog too and hopefully will have it as informative as yours :) Natasha

  2. I totally agree about wanting to see both food that is gorgeous and also food that is easy/fast I will actually make! I obviously fall into the latter of categories on my blog. : )

    Thanks for introducing me to that chocolate shop. I’m totally going to order some. : )

Leave a Reply

