2013 Undergrad Symposium

The symposium was a success! We got everything finished just in time (some handouts with a weekly meal plan had to be printed this morning!) and had a great response to our poster. I don’t know if I said this already in a previous post, but we presented on plant-based diets and human health. We did a literature review of several peer-reviewed studies looking at vegetarian/vegan dietary patterns and heart disease, cancer, and type 2 diabetes incidence. Included were the EPIC-Oxford and the Adventist Health Studies.

We got to meet several students and faculty who are already vegetarian or vegan and were attracted to our brightly fruit and vegetable covered poster and a lot of people who were curious about plant-based diets. I was happy to hear that several people were familiar with plant-based doctors like Dr. Fuhrman, Dr. Barnard, and Dr. Esselstyn. A lot of people enthusiastically took our meal plan that we created.

My partner Erin on the right and me on the left.

My partner Erin on the right and me on the left.

erin-dr.mistry-angela

Erin, our professor who sponsored us for the symposium, and me.

It was a great experience that I’m very grateful to my professor for providing us with. I generally don’t do so well with crowds and talking in front of people I don’t know, but I know it’s something I need to get used to and this allowed me to get some practice.

Leave a comment

Filed under dietetics school, nutrition topics

Leave a Reply

