Sunday night dinner experiment- beetroot ravioli

After that wonderful dinner last Thursday I was inspired to try something new in the kitchen. Since I’ve had my copy of Crazy Sexy Kitchen bookmarked up but haven’t really made anything since I bought it a few months ago, I decided to pick something I’ve been longing to make: the Beetroot Ravioli with Cashew Cream Cheese.

I soaked my cashews overnight Friday and then Saturday made the cashew cream cheese and let the flavors meld in the fridge.

Because I can NEVER leave good enough alone with a recipe, I tweaked it a bit. Since it was a cold, miserable day, I decided to roast the asparagus with a little balsamic vinegar and salt instead of shaving it and serving it as a raw salad. I actually roasted the sliced beets, too. What?! Why did I do that? Well, my slices, even though I did them with a mandoline slicer, were not exactly paper thin and were too hard and crunchy for my tastes. I ADORE roasted beets and thought it would work out just fine.

Beet ravioli

Beet ravioli

And it did. So delicious! And I have left over cashew cream cheese to spread on bagels and crackers since you only use half of it for the recipe.

I look forward to making more recipes from this book!

1 Comment

Filed under food, recipes

One response to “Sunday night dinner experiment- beetroot ravioli

  1. These look amazing. wooooow. yum. :)

Leave a Reply

